Some people argue that children should not watch television as it can have a negative effect on their development. Others claim that television can help them in their future. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people reckon that indulging in television consumption is detrimental to the development of children; however, others are more drawn to the idea that it is beneficial for their future. While both decisions have equally valid merits, I personally believe it proves more advantageous to avoid watching TV rather than being busy with watching films or cartoons. Admittedly, there are a number of reasons why it is good to take up with TV programmes. First and foremost, as educational content might be one of these factors, it may be beneficial in imparting information that is valuable to their lives and academic pursuits. For instance, channels like National Geographic or Discovery can expand children's knowledge about science, culture, and the environment. As a consequence, they have a chance to be aware of the news and can gain the necessary knowledge for their studies. On top of that, another reason for this phenomenon can be language and cognitive skill development. Not only do youngsters watch cultural programmes, but they also can look at age-appropriate shows in other languages or those focused on problem-solving exercises which can improve linguistic and analytical skills. This, in turn, leads to a highly interactive young generation who are given an opportunity to gain these skills through watching television. As much as I acknowledge the points above, I tend to believe that avoiding kids from TV content is more crucial as there are many negative impacts on them. One of these is that prolonged screen time can contribute to issues, ranging from obesity, and poor posture to eye strain. Case in point, studies have shown that children spending more than 4 hours daily watching television are prone to sedentary lifestyle diseases. This, in effect, causes varied health problems which may be both mental and physical. Furthermore, distraction from education and hobbies is another main contributor. If a child is addicted to cartoons reducing time for reading or engaging in creative activities such as drawing or sports, it may neglect homework or social interactions. These amusements, consequently, may be harmful as they result in children's laziness. To conclude, while some people are in favour of watching TV content in order to learn new skills and languages, I am of the opinion that it is more indispensable to limit their time for television since it is distracting as well as damaging to their performances and health.