Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely accepted that a large amount of sugar is used in many processed food and drink products, which has many negative effects on health. I completely disagree with this view that increasing the price of those products can motivate people to consume less, because this can lead to black market sales, and can make life more difficult for low-income individuals. To begin with, making sugary products more expensive may lead to black market sales, where people can buy and sell them outside the legal system at a lower price. This has several unintended consequences. First, it can increase the rate of crime, because people engage in illegal activities to acquire or sell those products. Second, it may cause the consumption of low-quality products, which may be more harmful than sugary foods on health. For example, when someone cannot afford to buy a packet of chocolate for their children, they are able to buy it in the black market at a lower price, but it may be out of date, which can cause food poisoning or even death. Furthermore, increasing the price of manufactured foods with much amount of sugar can create a burden only for low-income individuals, who cannot afford to buy healthy food and rely heavily on cheap sugary foods, such as bread or pasta. Because most high-income households do not care about the price of products. Therefore, this decision not only cannot create an incentive for them to consume less, but also may lead to starvation. Some people may argue that if sugary products are more expensive, people may be more likely to choose healthier alternatives, like water or unsweetened coffee or tea. As a result, this brings about overall improvement in people ’s diets. Nonetheless, this problem can be minimized by increasing the awareness of the public about the negative health consequences of consuming too much sugar, such as setting up health campaigns or education programs. This approach can lead to the development of a culture, where the intake of less sugar is seen as an informative behaviour. In conclusion, despite the fact that the consumption of some sugar -rich processed foods has negative effects on health, I completely disagree with the rising cost of these products to encourage people to decrease their intake of sugar, as this may create an incentive for individuals to engage in illegal activities, which can be dangerous for their health, and may create problems, for poor households for providing their foods.