Young people are increasingly choosing to eliminate meat from their diets and become vegetarians. Do you think this is a good idea? Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks?

As the younger generations have more exposure to mass media outlets through the Internet, an increasingly popular trend of turning to vegetarianism can be observed in this generation. In my opinion, I fully support their change to vegetarianism due to the advantages of such diet discipline outweigh its negative aspects. On the one hand, whilst the vegetarian diet offers more iron than meat-based ones, less of it is bioavailable, therefore, vegetarians are at risk of iron deficiency. Iron is an essential element in the body to produce haemoglobin which is needed to transport oxygen and other vital functions. Too little iron can interfere with these vital functions and lead to morbidity and death. Furthermore, vegans are also at risk of mental health problems. According to a study in 2023 published by Cureus, a meat-free diet can be linked to worse psychological health disorders such as depression. Another study found that people taking a vegetarian diet may be masking an eating disorder. On the other hand, avoiding meat may lower the risk of certain diseases, which includes conditions such as obesity and diabetes. By emphasising plant-based foods, such as fruits, vegetables, and whole grains, individuals can improve their overall health and contribute to a more sustainable and compassionate lifestyle. Furthermore, forgoing meat in favour of plant-based diets has a high potential for lowering our carbon footprint. The production of livestock releases significant amounts of methane, a potent agent of climate change. Therefore, going vegan can decrease our impact on the environment. In conclusion, although vegetarianism may harbour health risks, its benefits when properly applied brings many benefits, explaining why young people are increasingly taking it up. Therefore, I wholeheartedly support this transition because the advantages of adopting a vegetarian diet clearly outweigh any potential drawbacks.