Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Environmental issues have attracted more and more attention today. The extinction of certain species of flora and fauna is regarded by some as the biggest problem, while others hold it to be less vital than some other environmental problems. In my opinion, the severity of the loss of these particular species is beyond dispute. However, the importance of other environmental problems should not be trivialised, and we should even be more concerned about them. There is no doubt that more and more plants and animals are in danger and this is definitely one of the biggest problems we as human beings are faced with. It would be a great pity if our descendants could only learn about these species through books and videos. Furthermore, when people keep ignoring the situation and allow it to deteriorate, our planet will gradually lose its diversity, which could be irreversible. Side effects could also lead to further species extinctions and other environmental problems. For example, when we permanently lose a certain type of plant, the animals that depend on it for survival may no longer thrive either. I do agree with the argument that there are other environmental issues that are more urgent to address as they may account for the rise in the number of endangered species today. All life on Earth is closely interconnected, so when the air, water and soil are contaminated, it has a profound impact on all species. When we tackle or at least alleviate global warming caused by the greenhouse effect, we can also save the polar bears living on melting icebergs. If we cease overcutting trees and start tackling the decline in forest areas, many animals could also live in better habitats. In conclusion, the loss of animal and plant diversity is a real problem that needs to be solved, and I believe it will disappear automatically when we take action to deal with other fundamental environmental problems.