There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessments?

Nowadays, many institutions are assessing pupils through exams rather than other assessment patterns. The majority of folks are in the favour of this statement due to its number of benefits. However, some other people highlight its demits first. In my further paragraphs, the advantages and disadvantages of the same will be discussed. Initiating the benefits of the same, the first and foremost key benefit is that students can be better assessed with exams because there is a time limit to answer questions. In fact, this is the best method to understand how students perform under pressure. Another important benefit which can strike the minds of the people can be a predefined exam pattern. Hence, students can focus and prepare well for exams in the given format. For example, a survey conducted in Hong Kong revealed that the youth who appeared for exams are performing better in difficult situations. On its darker side, some of the drawbacks which make it problematic are, firstly, students are stressed because of exams. Moreover, they are falling sick mentally due to huge exam pressure. Secondly, skills assessed through exams are not applicable in real work so teachers should teach soft skills instead of the heavy curriculum to their pupils which are very important to survive. In addition, the assessment technique also should be changed to continual assessment in order to produce quality output. In conclusion to the above statement, neither its pros nor its cons can be neglected. It is a mixed bag of positives and negatives. In my opinion, the statement should not be underestimated.