Some school leavers go travelling or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do you think this has more advantages or disadvantages for their study?

Along with the development of the modern era, where the mindset grows a lot, many school graduates prefer postponing their studies to enrol in university. They take a gap year for both going to work and travelling. I think that this option brings more benefits to outweigh the shortcomings. The details will be addressed in this essay. To begin with, by taking gap terms to work and travelling, the school alumni will gain more experience and, without a shadow of a doubt, will have the opportunity to learn new things. For instance, those who join the company to work will get access to learn new skills from the real situation, which they may not get in an educational institution. Next, they will learn how to grow independently and sharpen their soft skills by travelling. For example, when they go to a particular recreational spot, they must calculate and decide the better option. Therefore, school alumna will have the ability to be good problem-solvers and decision-makers. However, there is still a shortcoming of leaving the opportunity to enrol in the university directly. The high school leavers will not have a formal degree at one specific time due to their willingness to skip it to take a gap year. Consequently, in the future, they may face hard competition to grab an opportunity to work at reputable corporations. For example, in a certain job fair, the human resource development officers will look for candidates who get a degree from reputable universities. This situation will lead to difficulty for high school leavers who postpone their further studies. In a nutshell, it goes without saying, that there are more advantages to taking a gap year for high school graduates. Because they will gain experiences from the real situation and obtain chances to learn something new. Even though there is a slight limitation where they hardly compete with university graduates in working at a reputable corporation, the lesson learned from working experiences will mean a lot.