Living in a country when you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious serius social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extents do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this globalization era, according to research done by a team at the University of Indonesia in 2020 shows 50% of the global population is living in numerous countries which forces them to speak a foreign language. Many argue it provokes not only social but also practical problems. This essay will discuss in detail why I strongly agree that speaking a foreign language while staying there in fact, can cause problems. Poor communication is the first reason why using a foreign language can be problematic. For example, when an immigrant talks with a local in a public place, oftentimes they’ll not understand each other much. Either because of the limited vocabulary of the foreigner or because the locals simply can’t catch their language with an unknown accent. As consequence, the foreigner can not communicate and get their needs. Thus, speaking new languages comes with the potency of poor communication that leads to social problems. Moreover, speaking a different language from someone’s mother tongue can create issues because they come with a different set of ethical rules that apply. Often times the foreigner doesn’t aware of this. A famous example can be found when speaking Deutsch. Non-native people tend to use the word “Du” to regard a police officer, instead of “Sie” or the formal form to say “you” to a stranger or an authority. Therefore, they seem rude to the locals, get misunderstood, and again as stated before it creates another problem. In conclusion, I personally agree that speaking a foreign language brings many problems to both the speaker and the recipients. Mainly because its leads to poor communication and being misjudged by the locals.