Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that the most effective approach to mitigate traffic collisions is to increase the minimum age at which individuals drive. While I agree that this method will be more advantageous in some aspects, I believe that harder punishments are considerably more effective and are already in place in several nations. It is undeniable that a higher legal driving age will help significantly minimize road accidents. The reality is that many vehicle accidents stem from the recklessness of young individuals. Moreover, many of these drivers are underage, and consequently, their inadequate maturity does not allow them to fully appreciate the severity of the risks they pose when they engage in dangerous behaviours like speeding and drinking while driving. In addition, increasing the minimum age to drive may guarantee that even the youngest drivers are adequately mature to drive safely as well as protect themselves and others on the route. On the other hand, I believe that this strategy has limited success because many adolescents today still operate automobiles without proper licensing. Therefore, increasing the severity of the penalties for those who are found guilty of driving offences is a more efficient strategy to protect the safety of roadway traffic. In certain countries, namely England, the United States, and New Zealand, instead of monetary fines and collecting driver's licenses, they can be punished by community labour. For example, a well-known player, Wayne Rooney, was fined 100 hours of community service and banned from driving for two years after driving with a blood alcohol concentration three times the legal limit. In conclusion, although I agree that increasing the minimum legal age to drive may enhance road safety, I hold the belief that stricter penalties would have constructive impacts on alleviating road collisions.