Some people believe tertiary education should be free, but others say universities should charge students. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that universities should charge students, Whereas, others believe that higher education should be free. I strongly agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that university-level education should be costless because it gives a sense of justice for bright and hardworking students who can’t afford tuition fees. In my country, there are numerous universities that are free and only accept individuals who pass the exam called “konkoor”. Also, countries rely on highly educated people and it should be a major priority for the governments to train young people for society, therefore universities could accept students based on their educational and intellectual level and not their money. On the other hand, other groups of people claim that institutes should charge learners. They insist that by paying tuition, universities would offer more facilities and higher educational quality. However, I believe that this argument is not valid since this can lead to an educational system that solely depends on the amount of money that people pay and not on their qualities. There are lots of students with high motivations who come from a poor family and need to have access to free tertiary education with good quality. Every university should have to proper materials and facilities to train their students. To conclude, in my view, individuals should have the ability to attend universities without paying money. Moreover, charging students for their training is unfair and prevents many young people from pursuing higher education.