News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is so common these days to use various pictures when broadcasting news on either TV or in the press. I agree applying this approach may make the news more impressive and appealing to some extent. However, it is not always convenient to display details via photos. Regarding the positive side of this, I believe that showing the real pictures of an affair being talked about on TV or in newspapers tends to be much more attractive and effective to the audience. The reason indeed is attributed to the fact that when people are shown some pictures when listening to the news on TV or reading it in newspapers not only is the listening or reading comprehension part of the brain cortex involved but simultaneously the visual sensation is also stimulated, which makes them completely concentrated on the information. in fact, that is the strategy through which you can make the others be unconsciously attracted to the information you are trying to convey. Take the tabloids as an example of how they have been successful in attracting an enormous amount of audience as they consist of plenty of pictures rather than monotonous texts. Showing pictures of an event, on the other hand, is not always that effective and beneficial. Sometimes an affair is too upsetting and disastrous to be published accompanied by its pictures. It is neither moral nor legal to display such bothering, unbearable scenes to the general population as it disturbs the public peace in addition to the victims’ privacy. Unfortunately, it is frequently seen that some people regardless of this matter publish these kinds of catastrophic pictures with news through social media. For instance, the port city of Bandar Abbas in Iran, experienced an unexpected, massive explosion which killed more than 100 people. Publishing the bothering pictures of this disaster through the internet and the press has had a substantial impact on society and public anxiety. In conclusion, I agree that using some pictures might make the news published in the newspapers or on TV more interesting and effective. However, it is not always possible and suitable to show all the details of an affair as it might have some disturbing effects on society.