Some people think that the popularity of the cinemas around the world has declined. Do you agree or disagree?

There are those who argue that cinemas are no longer people’s favourite places to watch movies, and this is seen on a global level. This essay will outline my complete agreement with the statement. First, it is true to say that technological advances in audio-visual technology have provided an alternative to film houses, for example, nowadays, most households possess 3D television, and some of them have state of art surround sound systems, which creates a similar atmosphere, and the experience that viewers might have in the movie theatre. In addition, applications, such as Netflix and similar services, made it possible for the community to watch the latest blockbuster releases. Second, few may disagree with the idea that most communities have a very busy lifestyle. The majority of folk work on average 7 hours a day, five to six days a week; as a result, they may not be able to find time for the film house. Also, the cost of watching a film in a movie house is rather expensive; consequently, fewer and fewer people can afford the cost of going to the movie theatre. Another strong reason for this decline is that most cinemas are located far from residential areas adding extra costs and time. To conclude, technological advances, overall people’s long working hours, and the financial costs are the logical reasons why I personally agree with the statement.