In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food.

In light of the proliferation of shopping demands, residents in several countries tend to purchase imported fare instead of the local one. This trend is due to the current reputation of foreign fare and can be tackled by governments to improve the quality of national nourishment. It is vital to understand that people choose cuisine regarding its popularity in the community. In other words, prestigious food brands always attract customers worldwide attributable to their verified aspect and long-term fame. Therefore, this will affect individuals whose decisions depend on the appearance, not the inside products. Consequently, by maintaining a large quantity of customers, imported feed keeps appealing to more and more users leading to a tendency to consume foreign cuisines. For example, despite high prices and not worthy quality, Envy Apple, a New Zealand Apple company, still had the highest revenue in the Apple industry for the Southeast Asia marketplace in 2020 due to the previous decade’s reputation. Notwithstanding the famousness of imported foodstuff, governments can enhance the standard of national food to encourage inhabitants to buy it. Specifically, the manufacturers should improve the merchandise’s condition with a competitive price to attract more consumers. This is because customers need to take risks to buy insecure cooking so these local companies need to fulfill their requirements. If they can solve this matter well, the consumption trend will change the direction of national products. Thus, governments need to show the strengths of local nourishment which are good standards and reasonable prices. In conclusion, there is a trend of buying international food because of the foreseen reputation. However, this can be remedied by enhancing the quality of national cuisine.