Some people believe that young people should choose the jobs that they want, but other people think they should be more realistic and think more about their future. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Making career decisions is crucial for young people. While some individuals choose their professions based on their personal preferences and interests, others believe their career choices should be grounded by reality and visions for the future. I personally believe, personal preference is the fundamental indicator for young people when choosing their occupation. On the one hand, choosing a widely accepted promising career can provide financial security for young people in the initial phase of career. Take software engineers for example, new graduates are more likely to have a better-paid job than those who work in traditional manufacturing departments, which means they can pay off their tuition debt earlier and become financially independent. However, a currently promising industry may not always be a high-ticket field for next few decades. Due to the rapid change in technology, such as AI, it hard to predict the future of an industry. On the other hand, picking up a career out interest leads to higher level of motivation and devotion which can be a benefactor in the long run. The life trajectories of numerous Nobel Prize winners have demonstrated how intrinsic motivation can support career success, especially when encountered with setbacks. Without the extreme curiosity of the truth, they would not keep working on the same problem after hundreds of failures. In conclusion, while choosing a promising career based on extrinsic factors will benefit young people financially during the first few years, intrinsic motivation is the essential factor to consider for young people to choose their occupation for long-term benefits.