In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the coming years, all cars, buses, and trucks are expected to be autonomous, with no human drivers required. Passengers with be the only occupants of these vehicles. I believe that its drawbacks, such as job loss and technical limitations, outweigh any benefits it may have. On the one hand, driverless vehicles may improve safety, because the vast majority of accidents are caused by human error, such as distracted driving, speeding, and sleeping. As a result, those vehicles can remove the risk of human errors, as there will be no need to be controlled by human drivers. In addition, this may reduce traffic congestion, as one of the major reasons for it is parking in urban areas. Therefore, driverless cars can drop off passengers at their destinations and then park themselves in designated areas, demolishing the need for drivers to circle around looking for a parking space. As a consequence, it can lead to fewer cars on the road. Nonetheless, the government can set up numerous education programs and campaigns to educate drivers, in order to prevent any human errors during driving, and it can encourage people to use more shared services, like car-sharing, which can minimize the demand for parking space. On the other hand, as autonomous vehicles become more advanced and more widely adopted, it is possible that they will be able to replace human drivers entirely. This phenomenon may lead to job loss in the transportation industry, which can have many negative effects on the economy. Moreover, self-driving vehicles may have some technical limitations, which may cause some problems. For example, they may struggle to operate in adverse weather conditions, such as heavy rain, and snow, which stop sensors and reduce visibility. Similarly, they may not navigate to unfamiliar environments or roads, which are not well-mapped. In conclusion, although driverless vehicles may have some advantages, like improving safety and reducing traffic congestion, I believe that their disadvantages outweigh those benefits, as they may lead to unemployment, and they may not operate well in any conditions and areas.