Some people regard video games as useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

It is undoubtedly true that video games have noticeable effects on users. While some people argue that such kind of entertainment can be utilized for educational purposes, others believe that these games negatively influence the players. This essay will compare both of these views and agree with the latter for certain reasons. On the one hand, playing video games is an interactive process and it develops players' ability to find immediate solutions by compelling them to produce an instant response. Also, it enhances creativity and analytical thinking by providing suitable conditions. For example, one of the most popular games called "Minecraft" presents a great chance to design individuals' own virtual worlds. On the other hand, it can harm people's health. In other words, spending hours in front of games can cause perilous diseases such as obesity and blindness. Moreover, gaming addicts may suffer from weakness in communication skills and social behaviours as they withdraw from society. For instance, according to a study of Italian people, 72.8 per cent of people between the ages of 10 and 25 spend most of their time playing computer games, so they find it difficult to express their thoughts when speaking. In my opinion, the fact that it can be used for educational purposes does not mean that its disadvantages should be ignored. The educational opportunities offered by video games can also be achieved through entertaining books and lessons, however, it is difficult to regain the health and social skills which they are jeopardized by these games. In conclusion, the bad aspects of video games outweigh their benefits, although they can be used as an amusing method for learning something.