In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, more and more companies decide to focus on the new points of their products when making advertisements. There are several reasons that can explain why this is the case. In my opinion, this status quo tends to bring more drawbacks than benefits to our society. The tendency to emphasise new ideas and features can be traced back to two main reasons. Firstly, companies want to attract the attention of potential customers by advertising in this way. As people can easily get accustomed to the products they currently have, they do need some stimulation to encourage them to give something brand new an opportunity. Another important factor may be the comparison and competition with other companies. Due to the fear of being left behind, most companies are pushed to constantly devise and manufacture new products so that they can occupy a certain part of the market and make a profit. I do not deny that this trend of advertising can bring some value. For example, it provides a constant impetus for people to spend money on new products, which leads to more capital in our markets, thus creating a better economic environment. However, its negative effects cannot be trivialised. Firstly, these companies may not pay much attention to the quality of their products, as their sole aim is to pursue new features. Furthermore, this may also have a negative impact on our environment. As consumption increases, a huge amount of plastic, paper and cartons need to be produced, which are then thrown away after use. This is definitely not eco-friendly and sustainable and can result in extra pressure on the earth. In conclusion, different factors affect the current advertising phenomenon focusing on the "new". I would argue that the disadvantages of this trend obviously outweigh the positive factors.