In the future, all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles would be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In light of the advancements in automation technology, the number of unmanned vehicles is forecast to widely proliferate in the foreseeable future. While some argue that the potentially thriving autonomous vehicle industry will do more harm than good, I would contend that regarding this technological breakthrough, the merits far exceed the downsides. The initial justification for why people advocate handing over the control of their car to a computer is its ability to raise road safety. Several reports indicate that a vast majority of traffic collision is ascribed to driver error. Therefore, letting the autopilot feature take over could help eliminate incidents and even fatalities due to reckless behaviours or human mistakes, namely speeding, distracted driving or drowsiness. Moreover, self-driving vehicles could be a game-changer that offers people more personal freedom regarding choosing transportation modes, especially disabled people or seniors - who are incapable of driving. The autopilot features equipped on vehicles could assist people with physical impairment with their daily life, for instance, taking them to the expected location, parking the car themselves or lowering or raising the driver’s seat. On the other hand, it is undeniable that potential problems could arise with the growing popularity of driverless motor vehicles. First of all, this will make the companies that provide customers with transportation services less profitable or even bankruptcy. As a result, this will cause the loss of jobs in the trucking or ride-hailing industry and damage the economy. Another drawback associated with the introduction of self-driving cars is security risks. An operating system of a car or bus is susceptible to being hacked when joining the same network with other vehicles, exposing personal location to the connected devices. In the worst-case scenario, terrorist hackers could take control of the driving system, which may cause road fatalities. In conclusion, while unmanned automobiles, to some extent, may do a disservice to society, I am convinced that the advantages of this technological advancement are far weightier.