Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do

It is a fact that humans need to take responsibility for a wide range of environmental problems. However, we can also take steps to reduce the damage that we are causing to the planet. This essay will analyze the root causes of environmental issues and then suggest remedies to address these issues. In terms of reasons for environmental damage, increased utilization of private vehicles would make a huge contribution to this issue. This means of transportation would release a huge amount of exhaust fumes into the atmosphere, which could seriously pollute the air as well as sources of water. In the long run, this could lead to health problems such as respiratory or heart diseases. Besides, the irresponsibility of individuals would be another principal problem. In urban areas, especially some places famous for tourists, people have a growing tendency to litter indiscriminately. As a result, when the disposal of waste products is improper, it takes a long time to degrade, which could lead to emitting chemicals and microparticles right into the atmosphere and seriously damaging the air quality. For example, cigarette butts thrown away contain poisonous chemicals such as arsenic and formaldehyde, so they would have an adverse impact on the air quality as well as the health conditions of people in these areas. Regarding feasible solutions to resolve these problems, the government should pass strict laws and new policies to encourage people to reduce their use of private vehicles. To be more specific, the government could impose a tax on utilizing private vehicles. In that way, people would have a sense of hesitation and discomfort when using their own transportation and gradually turn to using public transportation on a more frequent basis. Besides, the government could spend their budget developing renewable energy sources such as solar and wind to replace the increasing utilisation of fossil fuels, which would make a major contribution to improving the air quality as well as the ecosystem in general. Apart from that, individuals need to take responsibility for this alarming problem. People can get involved in campaigns relating to environmental issues to raise their awareness. Only when each individual has an in-depth understanding of the latent threats that their actions cause to the environment can we hope that this severe situation can be improved. For example, in some specific areas in the Netherlands, most of the citizens here advocate the idea of vehicle-free days and only make use of public transportation on these days, so the air quality in these regions could be significantly improved. In conclusion, human activities have to be mainly responsible for environmental issues. In addition, solutions need to be taken urgently by both the government and people to solve this issue