In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Nowadays, parents and teachers in several nations tend to convey the message to youngsters that they have the ability to fulfil any aspiration as long as they exert sufficient effort. Generally speaking, there are both benefits and faults that can be indicated by the education method, thus we should raise our awareness to magnify the merits and minify the demerits. In this essay, I will explore both aspects of this issue and state my own stance. In terms of advantages, I deem that there are mainly three of them. First and foremost, children’s determination to overcome obstacles can be nourished by such positive suggestions. They would possess the trait of remaining resilient in the face of adversity only if they have faith in their own capabilities to survive and address tough issues with bravery. The perspective can be best illustrated by the instance of myself, after my peers heartened me to believe in myself, I successfully passed the physical fitness test about which I used to be so scared. Not only can the encouragement enhance the self-esteem of teenagers, but it can also elevate their mood and assist them to cultivate positive mentalities. It is evident that severe depression has become almost prevalent among adolescents or even younger children, which could be exceedingly hazardous to our society if pragmatic measures can not be carried out to prevent the widespread of this phenomenon. However, the optimistic portrayal of the latent ability of juveniles can be a remedy to the problem in my imagination, since it acknowledges their potential and validates their existence value. Last but not least, parents can nurture their offspring to be independent and undertake their own responsibilities through inspiring information. While the advantages I have mentioned are numerous, the education scheme inevitably has negative impacts on the development of children. To begin with, it inflates the confidence of juveniles at the expense of indulging their arrogance and self-centred attitude to grow. They might take the contribution of companions for granted and decline to collaborate on missions they perceive to be simple if they concentrate on it. Consequently, they would provoke serious conflicts in their personal relationship and perform awfully in large-scale projects as intimate cooperation is required for these tasks. Furthermore, the statement exaggerates the function of diligence, which may misguide teenagers to rely blindly on their persistence while neglecting the possibility of compromise or altering their strategies. Courageous though they are, sometimes they can be too obstinate to adapt themselves to changing circumstances. Hence, I concur with the opinion that educators should clarify the limitations of working hard can pursue and foster the virtue of modesty in youngsters before imparting them the message. In conclusion, there are advantages of the positive indicators such as augmenting the confidence of children and restoring their mental well-being, but the detrimental effects of ostentation and stubbornness are apparent as well. In my perspective, parents and teachers should moderate this message with realistic guidance and support for children’s goals.