in many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

Life expectancy in some countries has been raised throughout this century. Although the increase in senior citizens has its own benefits, a number of individuals contend that this phenomenon brings about some detrimental complications. I think both pros and cons should be discussed. By looking at the bright sides of this widespread event, we can vividly see that people work more effectively than before, due to the fact that there is hope for planning for the rest of their lives after retirement. Moreover, families can take advantage of the presence of their grandparents like leaving children to be brought up by grandparents. Last but not least, the ageing population reside in industrialised zones which is considered a criterion for levelling the well-being of countries, the more an area has an ageing population, the more it is seen as a developed nation. With regard to the disadvantages, it is undeniable that elderly individuals dedicate almost all their heydays to their motherland but the cost of keeping them in nursery homes and the pensions being paid to them monthly is a heavy burden on the governments, while they are not the workforce. Furthermore, the existence of people who are too unfit for their daily routine work imposes this responsibility on the offspring which seems partly impossible with such kind of nowadays hectic lifestyle. Finally, the budget, allocated to them could have been invested in other parts of society like funding students who are struggling to ends meet at college. To conclude, that elders could compel heavy burden on others is obvious, but we should take it into account that if their sacrifices were not, we would not live with tranquillity as we do now; thus, looking up to them can be the least action that we can do in order to appreciate.