Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think that it is a good thing, while others think that it has disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sports as a high-quality entertainment has been around for several centuries already. Athletes compete with others to show their best in each tournament. Olympians raise the stakes to their limits which makes an event become far more personal than ever before. That is what many companies find crucial to step in as sponsors from an advertising perspective which I consider an integral part of any professional competition. Despite the fact of pursuing commercial interests, sponsorship helps to boost the performance of athletes by and large. Funding a team or an individual helps to bring better equipment and outfit which has a sizeable impact on their results. This will lead to gaining popularity of a company as a brand if better results will be achieved in return. Eventually, it will be reflected in their revenues from selling. However, the sports industry has become too commercialized recently which can be deduced from the public lives of sportsmen. Today, an abundance of money leads to any sorts of problems starting with bad performance and ending with public scandals or even trials after some competitions. Moreover, increasing the amount of money for advertisement leads to manipulations imposed by sponsors’ decisions which are dictated by commercial interests. Funding strategies should be reconsidered in my opinion to make sports fairer. Terms and conditions for companies should be framed in terms of ways of providing resources and their amount as well. In return, it will help to unbias the industry in general and help teams to balance between the optimal setup for training and keeping teammates in shape and focused. In conclusion, sponsorship is a good leverage for every competitor in the industry as it helps professionals to stay focused on their crafts and forge ahead to gold medals. However, it should be done wisely and in a manageable way as easy money could spoil even the best of us.