Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of university?

In recent years, the debate on the syllabus taught in universities has been widely discussed. People have different views on whether colleges should impart specific practical skills that would be useful for a student’s future career or be given the freedom to a range of knowledge. In my view, while tailoring a curriculum to suit a particular job can increase the graduates' chances of securing a job, limiting the amount of intelligence a person can learn and restricting their skill set can reduce other opportunities. On the one hand, focusing on mastering certain courses relevant to one’s future enables further understanding of the requirements, thus modifying oneself early on to fit into the job prerequisite. For example, studying medicine in university requires students to learn all the general information before allowing them to diverge into a specific area of expertise. However, not all general details will be needed for certain specializations. Thus, if colleges provide curriculums that can better enrich a student’s knowledge on that scope, they can reduce time spent on irrelevant learning and focus on what is needed for employment. On the other hand, I believe that some parts of education are deeply connected, and only learning one aspect can be detrimental to one’s development. For instance, when learning physics, a student must have the basics in mathematics. Without including maths in the syllabus, it will be difficult for undergraduates to understand their course, and may even forget how to apply different subjects to other situations. In conclusion, while reducing the content of university education can provide advantages such as more in-depth insight and experience which assist in landing a career, these are short-term benefits. Without the ability to utilize different information, our critical thinking skills will diminish, and this may impact our future during our profession.