Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that teenagers should be in mandatory to do voluntary work in their spare time in order to promote the local community and they think this would be beneficial for both the individual teenager and society. However, I disagree that we should force youngsters to do unpaid work due to some reasons. To begin with, youngsters have to face an enormous amount of homework at school and they may get higher pressure for their daily activities. Just imagine that students will be given lots of work to do after school, so if students are obligated to do unpaid activities, they will not have enough time to complete that assignment. As a consequence, they would get worse and worse day by day because of not absolutely finishing homework as doing homework which is the main key to success. For instance, the school’s curriculum includes more than ten subjects with lots of homework for each of the subjects and twenty examinations during two semesters to check students ’ knowledge. Therefore, all students are demanded to complete homework and sit on many exams so high pressure is inevitable. After that, we blindly force teenagers to do charity work but not look further into any potential problems. In my point of view, doing voluntary activities with no experience can result in dangerous situations. For example, students who take part in medical voluntary must be required to have at least some knowledge about this aspect, such as artificial respiration or basic healthcare method, etc. So working any type of work without knowledge will make things worse. Overall, teenagers may choose to work for free and help others, but in my opinion, we should not make this compulsory.