Grades encourage students to work harder at school. Do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, it is sometimes believed that the exam's marks inspired children to study more in school. In my opinion, I partially agree that students are quite uplifted if they are getting low grades in a school exam. On the one hand, there are a couple of reasons why I agree with the statement. Firstly, if students get low grades in final exams then it might be possible they are uplifted by it and will study harder compared to the past. As a result, it may be a chance to get high grades in the next exams. To illustrate this, students, who failed the internal exams, might be encouraged by teachers and parents and got good scores in the final exam. Additionally, the grades system is really good because they provide the academic abilities of pupils. For example, if students want to enter in good university then they should achieve higher grades in the school exams. On the other hand, there are a couple of demerits of this statement. One of the reasons is that students do not get admission to their dream college for higher studies. Moreover, they are going to work in low-level shops or not going to work after leaving school. As a result, they feel regret at that time. Another obvious reason is that grades make competition between children. Therefore, some pupils behave wrong towards other children and they discourage them. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I think that children stand a better chance to succeed in school if they work hard and get well marks in the exams.