It is argued that parents of children who break the law should be punished as they are responsible for their children's actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Parenting plays an essential role in the upbringing of the heir. However, it is often believed that instead of punishing offspring for their mistakes, guardians should be held accountable. This essay partially agrees and partially disagrees with this statement and will explain the reasons for it. On one hand, if parents are held responsible for every action of their kids and are penalised for it, will increase the consciousness of parents about their children's activities. They will be more aware of their whereabouts for instance, what activities they are involved in outside school, and what kind of friends they have. If guardians keep a keen eye on their actions it can save them both from many troubles. As a result, they will be able to focus more on the right actions and studies under their guardian's supervision and parents will be conscious of their movements as they are supposed to teach them the right thing and set a good example for them. Having said that, on the other hand, where parents are to be blamed for their offspring, children themselves are equally responsible for their actions as well, and it is necessary to punish them when they do wrong. This reinforcement is essential to raise kids for instance, if a kid has broken a law and consequently, is given a certain hour of community work to do or is grounded, it will help him/her understand the consequences of their actions rather than just pushing their parents. In conclusion, in my opinion, such laws should be made that hold both parents and children responsible depending on the case, in this way both parties are likely to be aware of their duties. Parents do the right parenting and children follow their commands.