Raising household electricity fees is the most effective solution to the problems associated with power generation and environmental pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective in reducing the environmental pollution caused by power generation?

Nowadays, environmental issues resulting from the production of power are the principal concern of people all over the world. Some people believe that increasing the cost of household electricity is the best way to address this problem. However, I firmly believe that this solution would not be helpful and that this problem can only truly be addressed by using clean energy sources. In terms of reasons why I disagree with the measure mentioned, the first as well as the most apparent one may be that day-to-day residential energy consumption just accounts for a small part of the total energy use. All the while, industrial factories have a huge demand for burning fossil fuels to run their businesses, so these plants are the main energy consumers and have to be mainly responsible for this problem. For example, in the United States, industrial and commercial activities take up more than half of total energy consumption, while the figure for domestic purposes is significantly lower, making up just 30%. As a result, burdening households with higher electricity bills just makes the dwellers frustrated and can not solve power issues thoroughly. Regarding other effective measures to the environmental problems, the first as well the most significant one may be the utilisation of renewable energy sources instead of non-renewable sources. These days, solar or wind systems are not only deemed environmentally friendly but also can produce the same amount of energy as other energy sources. In that way, we could reduce our reliance on fossil-fuel-burning power plants, which contribute greatly to addressing alarming environmental issues. Apart from that, shifting to the use of electric, and hydrogen vehicles or promoting shared mobility might be another feasible solution to address this serious problem. For example, in Denmark, people choose to utilize carpooling, public transportation, and bicycles on a more frequent basis, instead of using their own private vehicles. Consequently, the air quality in this country could be improved significantly. In conclusion, I strongly believe that increasing the price of residential electricity bills may not be the most suitable alternative to solve power issues. While this problem can be solved by using clean energy sources as well as boosting the utilisation of eco-friendly transportation