Buying things on the Internet is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

It is well known that e-commerce has revolutionized the sales market, especially in the last 20 years. The Modern world population has gotten used to obtaining an item with a simple click, affecting our economies, traditions and the way life develops these days. Personally, I believe the positive outcomes of e-commerce are superior to its flaws. Online shopping, indeed, makes people’s daily lives easier, meaning that with the intensity and speed that daily routines develop, it is needed a fast solution in order for people to get what they need as soon and as easily as possible. Websites like Amazon allow the customer to decide in less than a minute whether they need a new TV, a book, a pipe replacement or a few pairs of socks. In addition to this, online shopping enables businesses to grow and reach a wider customer base, reducing personnel and consequently costs. That has been crucial for the vast majority of companies in leading positions nowadays. Despite these advantages, the online marketplace industry still has a lot of work to do in order to offer a better service. Indeed, It is true that it allows clients to obtain everything they need but also creates a false sense of necessity for many material possessions that are not really needed, therefore there may be space to consider that perhaps the ease of online commerce pushes customers to buy without any judgement. To make the world a better place it is certainly needed that the population understands that there is a more responsible way of obtaining products, moreover that every company with an e-commerce platform take place into action and into involving itself in the change. In short, the next step for businesses should be not only finding ways to keep growing but also searching for more sustainable solutions in order to reduce their environmental footprint. To summarize, online commerce provides, in my opinion, more advantages and facilities than drawbacks, being now in fact a huge determinant of the global economy. Both customers and businesses must, however, understand their responsibility to find the most suitable way of reducing the environmental impact. Without this change, the world will continue to be a place where superficial desires prevail over the future of mother nature.