nuclear power is used both for weapons of mass distructions and the production of cheap, clean energy. do the advantages outweight the disadvantages?

technological advancement enables humans to harness the power of nuclear energy. however, the usage of this energy is a matter of dispute as it can be used as a weapon to wipe out a place others believe it is a good origin of energy. even though nuclear capability has a few undeniable merits. I believe the demerits of atomic energy comprise risks of a radiation leak in energy reactors coupled with chances of using it as a weapon causing a threat to mankind. commencing with the most prominent merit of atomic potential is the efficient and environment-friendly source of energy. in other words, it produces almost negligible pollution along with a higher rate of energy production for a long time in contrast to conventional sources; like coal. For,example one kilogram of uranium is enough to produce sustainable energy, for a medium town, for a whole year. therefore, there is no doubt it is a futuristic fuel with almost zero byproducts making it an ideal source of power. despite the given merits, the use of atomic energy has undesirable ramifications. the most salient demerit is the risk of contamination by radiation. To exemplify it, nuclear reactions emit hazardous rays which can penetrate not only human's but also animal bodies, resulting in dangerous mutations at the cellular level or even death. a single mistake in reactors, which use nuclear power as a fuel, can lead to a catastrophic situation. For instance, in Chornobyl when the nuclear reactor was destroyed due to a glitch in the system causing the deaths of more than a thousand people. another worth considerable drawback of such energy is its potential to be used as a tool to create panic among the human race. to illustrate, in Hiroshima and Nagasaki both cities entirely vanished by the bombs fueled with nuclear fusion power. therefore, in no time any nation having nuclear energy as a source of clean power can be turned into a destructive tool. As a result, it can cause mass destruction and has a major drawback. to conclude, although, nuclear power produce eco-friendly energy and is an advantage of this energy, its predicaments comprising the risk of contamination as well as the potential use of it as a weapon, override any of its benefits.