Some people believe that the arts should receive subsidies or sponsorship from government and big companies. Others feel such spending is a luxury and that it would be better if it were invested in scientific projects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, governments have to decide for which projects they would designate the budget of the country. While many people believe that subsidies and sponsorship from governments should be invested in scientific projects rather than arts, I support the opposite idea because the relevance of arts is crucial for everyday people ’s daily lives, for understanding and controlling their emotions. Many people believe that sciences deserve a larger sum of money than arts. Proponents of this view may suggest that spending on the arts is unnecessary because this field is irrelevant to the population, contrasting with other fields such as science, transport, or engineering. For example, when the COVID pandemic occurred, the medical solution was in scientists’ hands, while at the same,time the availability of products in markets was carried out by transporters. Moreover, in emergency situations arts may not be useful to directly solve the problem, whereas good quality equipment that scientists could have will be. If states increase their sponsorship of scientific projects, the world will experience a growth in knowledge and could be able to treat many diseases that are now impossible. However, arts are as important as other fields of work because people consume them throughout their entire life. Everyone spends much of their time watching videos, and films, listening to music or doing other art-related activities. Furthermore, many people ’s hobbies are sometimes related to arts, which are used to understand concepts such as life, death, happiness or sadness. For instance, when people feel different emotions, they usually connect with some art in order to feel understood. For these reasons, arts need private economic funding and sponsorship from states to provide low-cost access to high-quality arts, accessible to everyone who wants to enjoy them. To conclude, there is a debate about whether the arts should be funded or sponsored rather than designate money on scientific projects. Although I understand the relevance of having good resources in science, I support that arts are as important as other fields of work because they take part in everyday people ’s lives and should be granted to anyone who wants to consume them.