Write about the following topic: Nowadays, many schools find it profitable to sell unhealthy food and sugary drinks to students during lunch breaks. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Children prefer to eat foods which are rich in fat, sugar and salt. Thus, schools target children to earn more money by promoting such foods to them. However, I would argue that it will have a negative impact. Firstly, children will become sick by consuming processed foods. Eating processed foods will result in excess weight gain. Not only they will become overweight or obese, but also they will get other non-communicable diseases, such as diabetes and high blood pressure at a young age. Their grades will become lower gradually, as they cannot attend school regularly and they are no longer be able to concentrate on their class. For example, a recent study has shown that the healthy children tend to score more on their subjects than children with poor health status. Secondly, it will create unnecessary quarrels between the parents and their children. Children may think eating junk food and having sweetened drinks are healthy as they are sold at school. However, parents might have taught them that eating such foods is injurious to health. In addition, they will not eat the home-cooked lunch as they want to taste the foods that are sold at the school with their friends. Moreover, they may demand pocket money from their parents to buy those foods during their meal break. Unfortunately, not all the parents are rich enough to provide an extra cash for their children. For instance, in Canada, a healthy lunch program has been implemented to reduce an economic burden on the parents and one of the advantages of that program is the children who are in the lunch program have a harmonious relationship with their parents. In conclusion, I would argue that promoting junk food consumption at schools by selling those foods will have detrimental effects on school-aged children, though it provides monetary benefits to schools.