These days, more and more people prefer to use shared transport such as buses, trams or carsharing applications on their smartphones rather than driving their own cars. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

Nowadays, an increasing number of individuals opt to take public transit or carpool using smartphone applications instead of driving their own vehicles. In my opinion, there are more advantages than disadvantages if fewer people travel using their own personal automobiles. On the one hand, trips may become less pleasant and less safe if the number of people who choose to use public transport or carpool is on the rise. Firstly, bus and metro users are highly likely to experience more discomfort due to densely packed cars during peak transit hours in particular. For example, most travellers on city buses and metro trains would probably have to stand and would bump into others during their journey, causing them to feel uncomfortable. Secondly, personal safety might be compromised when using car-sharing services. In fact, when sharing cars with drivers who are random strangers, safety is never a 100 percent guarantee. On the other hand, people can reap the benefits of a cleaner environment and shorter travelling times if public transit and car-sharing systems become more and more popular. For a start, a decrease in the number of cars on the road can lead to a drop in the amount of exhaust fumes emitted into the air, and thus better air quality and, eventually, milder global temperatures. That is because harmful gases such as CO and CO2, which are emitted by fossil-fuel cars, are responsible for air pollution and global warming. In addition, traffic would be lighter because carrying more people in one vehicle means that there would be fewer cars on the road. As a result, individuals could avoid traffic jams and reach their destinations more quickly. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the positive effects of sharing modes of transport like buses, trains, and carpooling outweigh the negative ones because the public can benefit from fresher air and faster journeys. Therefore, the use of public transport and shared rides should be encouraged by any means.