Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Spending funds on transportation pathways is a topic of discussion. I strongly disagree that the government should put money for railways instead of roads. The first reason is about people who always prefer to go anywhere by their own vehicle because they work hard to collect their salaries with the aim of purchasing a car to live more easy. For instance, a person who has a good quality car, like to go on a trip by their own car to be more comfortable and do whatever they want. Hence, the officials should collect the money and spend it for ways to make good roads due to their citizens commute better. The second one would be about the ticket prices due to expenses that train and railways have, the tickets are usually expensive. In this case, people tend to go anywhere by their own car. For example, individuals prefer to go on a trip by car as the tickets are cost a leg and arm. Moreover, trip is always expensive because the members should spend a lot of money on accommodation, food, souvenir and so on, so they prefer to cut back on other transport and stick to road transport like their own car and bus. So, the ticket prices are not reasonable and it is better to put that money on road and construction of good trails. Some may argue that, the authorities need to spend money on railways because it is a safe way to protect inhabitant; however, whit good quality roads and good drivers, everyone will be safe. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that the government should spend money on railways because of two reasons, one is about preferences of the society to go anywhere by their car and the second is about the expensive tickets that the trains has whereas some people think that it is a safe way but we can monitor it by good roads and drivers.