People face far greater risks in the modern way of life than they did in the past. How far do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is important to consider that people nowadays are prone to have more risks due to the modern lifestyle, in comparison to the past. In this essay, I would like to outline the reason why this is true with supporting arguments and examples. To start with, technology, which was the backbone towards the rise in advanced lifestyle, has larger repercussions in jobs getting replaced. This is due to the fact that the world is heading towards digital transactions and one-touch automation instead of manual yet time-consuming work that is also vulnerable to human-based clerical errors at times. To illustrate this better, as per the recent report, more than 90% of the banking transactions were digitally made, and in turn replaced 1/3rd of the manual workforce. As a consequence of it, there are multiple industries hit with a job crunch which led to an imbalance in the job market. Furthermore, people cannot overlook the risks associated with the emergence of technology due to the modern lifestyle. This is because major digital platforms possess our personal and sensitive information, which can be hacked and threatened against us. For instance, the infamous ransomware malware that took place 5 years ago, robbed several private information and sought out ransoms from the victims as a form of blackmail. In addition to it, our lifestyles are majorly influenced by technology and gadgets, which itself is harmful to our health on excessive usage. In conclusion, although the modern lifestyle has several advantages due to faster transactions and reduced errors, one cannot overlook the risks associated with those as outlined above.