Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is argued that many university students want to study other disciplines in addition to their main subject, while others believe that they should be focusing their time and attention on getting a qualification. While qualifications are good to secure good jobs, I believe the possibility of learning other subjects can create multi-discipline experts who are also paid highly. Many people believe that qualifications are important for university students to get good, decent-paid jobs. This is because many jobs that are paid highly tend to require certain qualifications for their workers. As a result, many students are expected to have certain qualifications in order to get a well-paid job that could result in a happy life. For example, to become a doctor, medical students have to receive long-term training and have certain medical qualifications in addition to their degrees. However, I believe that having qualifications is not the only way to get well-paid jobs. Studying other subjects benefits university students because this prompts a more enjoyable process in cultivating multi-disciplinary ways of thinking. Students who are able to learn other subjects that they want to learn arguably can enjoy their studying process better. Moreover, other perspectives, methods, and skills which they learn in other subjects will generate multi-disciplinary ways of thinking which could benefit them in the future. For instance, with the proliferation of many new, unconventional high-paid jobs, such as data scientist, students are expected to have a wide range of knowledge and skills, which are not confined to one strict education subject only. To conclude, while many believe qualifications are crucial for students to have decent, well-paid jobs, I think that the ability to learn other subjects also benefits the students, as this allows the students to have a wide range of knowledge and skills which could benefit them in the future.