Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

It is inevitable that modern technologies have a great impact on how individuals communicate nowadays. Despite many advantages derived from such trends, I agree with opponents who allege the downsides provoked by the population who are accustomed to using advanced technologies for communication growing in size, which leads to an indifferent society. To begin with, instead of writing and meeting in person, the younger generation is in favour of using high-tech equipment, such as smartphones and computers, as means of communication, which could shorten the distance between people who live in different nations as well as foster globalisation. However, the negative impacts that come along with such phenomena should not be overlooked. To begin with, anonymity in the virtual world makes young individuals feel less responsible for their behaviours, which deteriorates the situation of verbally bully. It will foster growth in the number of youth with low self-esteem, some even ended up committing suicide. For example, students nowadays prefer to use group chat on smartphones for having discussions, on top of that, it also is used to spread rumours to ruin one's reputation. Secondly, a great amount of misleading information intends to take advantage of those with compassion making more people have trust issues which dry out the kindness in societies. Take the incidents as an example which happened in the USA years ago, a woman who lied about her physical disability for attention and to gain a tidy sum of financial donations from the public. Individuals now will have second thoughts before helping others which put those who are really in need in a vulnerable situation. To summarise, developing technologies will continue to influence the life of descendants in various aspects, especially in social relationships. Besides enjoying the convenience and efficiency brought by such trends, I believe it is essential to be aware of those negative impacts that could cause various hazards in societies.