It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more?

People claim that it is hard to make children read books because of the easy access to new technology and of how busy parents are in these days. I feel that there can be many solutions to encourage children to read more, like reducing time in front of screens, going more to the library or creating rituals to go to bed to create family time. To begin with, new technology has become more and more accessible to children like video games, smartphones or even television, which can represent a source of addiction to the youngest. For example, nowadays every child wants to have the latest video games for Christmas, which is a lot time -consuming and allows no time left to read. Moreover, today, parents and especially mothers are more and more busy with their professional lives. As a result, they have less time to share activities with their children or spend family time. For example, after a day of work, it is difficult to have time and energy to read a fairy tale before going to bed or to organise a day out to the library when they do not have school. I believe that many solutions can encourage children to read books like reducing the time spent in front of screens and instead, proposing books in different genres to make the youngest interested in the reading activity. For example, teenagers are crazy about mangas like Naruto. So, instead of watching manga cartoons, we need to propose manga books, which are interesting to read, like Japanese do, from the right to the left. In addition, parents need to create family rituals like reading fairy tails before going to bed, which can set a habit of reading alone. In conclusion, people argue that today, children read less because of new technology and the busy lives of their parents. However, I believe that we need to reduce time spent in front of screens and make books more attractive to the youngest by creating moments shared together.