As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is certainly true that over the last decade, the number of automobiles has increased, as a result, the discussion about road services has arisen, some suggest that drivers should pay for it, while others think that governments should do it. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument in detail, and provide options as to why the second opinion is superior. On one hand, people who take the view that governments should pay for it argue that it's one of their responsibilities towards its citizens, it is well known that road systems are one of the most vital services to the functioning of society, and that's the reason why local councils should spare a part of their budget to this particular field. Moreover, individuals already pay a fee before entering highways and it is believed that it is pointed directly to cover the costs of route repairments; therefore, it is not logical to impose new taxes on drivers. For example, in the USA, vehicle operators should pay 20 Dollars for each 150 km. I totally support this side, in my opinion, it is indeed the responsibility of authorities to take care of route systems. On the other hand, supporters of the opposite view claim that only drivers should carry the burden of extra costs involved in such services, they argue that non- drivers should not pay an amount of their income in order to participate in something that they don't usually use. Furthermore, Individuals who use cars are responsible for the damage that occurs, thus, they are the only ones who have to get involved in the repairments, whether by paying extra taxes or other ways, for instance, in some Asian countries, governments have introduced new laws to force local drivers to pay extra cash once in 2 years to fix their routes. To conclude, there are convincing arguments both for and against the costs of the management of road systems; however, I believe that it is the liability of authorities.