Some people think that watching sport is a waste of time during leisure time. ‎To what extent do you agree or disagree?‎

Nowadays watching sports has become incredibly common around the globe. It is argued by some people that watching sports in your relaxation time is futile and time -wasting. While there are some drawbacks, I disagree with this viewpoint. In my opinion, watching sports has many positives such as socializing and learning the good qualities of sportsmen. To begin with, proponents of this view believe that leisure time can be utilized in more effective ways such as going to gym or studying. These people state that the time spent watching a game on TV is harmful to health due to lack of movement and activity. Moreover, if a person spend their time studying, it could help them achieve their objectives. For instance, a recent study by the department of Education in the UK stated that students who opted to study 2 hours extra during their free time scored significantly higher than the rests. Therefore, using one’s time wisely can be beneficial. On the other hand, the idea that watching sports is a waste of your free time is completely preposterous. Watching a game on TV in a public setting enables you to socialize and network with other people which can be valuable in life. Moreover, following your favorite team or athlete can lead you to take up on some sporting activity and also teaches you the positive values and qualities like teamwork, respect, and persistence to name but a few. For example, one of the best football player currently, Mbappe from France, started his football career because he was inspired by his Idol Cristiano Ronaldo. As can be seen, watching sport has clear advantages and should not be regarded as redundant. In conclusion, whether or not watching games as leisure activity is waste of time has been a topic of discussion. From my point of view, I do not agree with statement and believe it has a lot of merits.