The governments should give each citizen a basic income so that they have enough money to live on, even if they are unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Earning a living is hard for many people nowadays. This is why certain individuals think that it would be best if the government gives money to citizens including those not employed so as to make their lives more comfortable. The essay below supports the idea that the government should give the public an income so that they to make ends meet. This is because getting a job is hard for others and some salaries are not enough to feed a family. To begin with, individuals must be given income especially those from developing countries. This is because of poor economies which have contributed to many graduates being unemployed. Despite their qualifications, the industries are not enough to employ them. For instance, a certain study showed that most graduates in Zimbabwe are unemployed. This has pushed some of them to do crimes and theft so as to put food on the table. For this reason, I think unemployed citizens should be given income, in this way, the crime rate and theft will be reduced. Furthermore, some employed individuals do not get enough salaries to raise a family. So, adding more money to such salaries would go a long way in helping struggling families. For example, the Hong Kong government periodically offers vouchers to all citizens. This has helped even those living on the streets, the unemployed and people getting low income. Therefore, I support the idea of giving money to everyone because it helps struggling families. To conclude, the essay above argued that people should be given income despite their situation. This is because certain individuals are jobless and those employed sometimes do not get enough money to sustain a family.