Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development? You should write at least 250 words.

Working hours per week have been restricted by many nations. The primary reason for many countries to introduce these laws is to protect the workers, and I believe this is a good development as it creates more jobs. First of all, the main reason for introducing such restrictions by many governments is to save their citizens. That is because many companies, without such limitations, were forcing their employees to work longer shifts and more hours. Therefore, after these limitations, a company can not exploit their employees. Moreover, this is a positive development as it reduces unemployment as well. When people are not allowed to work for more than a certain amount of time, their employers are forced to hire extra workers, thus reducing unemployment. For example, in the United Kingdom, the number of jobless people decreased to half when this law was introduced. Also, this has a beneficial effect on a person's health. When people are not overworked, their physical and mental health improves and they can do their job more effectively, which also increases productivity. For example, after the limitation had been imposed in the EU, the number of people taking days off from their work has reduced significantly. In conclusion, this limit was imposed by many governments to protect their citizens and the reduction in joblessness and improvement in general health means this initiative has far more beneficial effects than drawbacks and thus a good development. Therefore, it is recommended that more states should make such regulations in their country.