Some think that printed books are not necessary in the digital era, because all writing can be stored electronically. Others think printed books still play an important role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is sometimes argued whether printed books own some unique value for their existence. In my opinion, while e- books gradually become the most popular choice among people, printed books still play a vital role in contemporary society. On the one hand, there are a lot of bright sides to electronic books. Firstly, it is easier and faster for us to get access to all sorts of books which may be considerably far from you. Especially, when you are desperately eager to read a precious book which is only preserved in one library and is nearly impossible for you to borrow, it is the time that shows the advantages of e- books to our readers. All people can get in touch with it just through the internet, which also means that every valuable old book or masterpiece can be definitely protected well without the influence of the environment as well as some damage caused by humans. Additionally, one of the features of electronic books is portable, the folks can read a book anywhere at any time. On the other time, there is also a range of reasons why printed books should exist. There is no denying that the paper-based book covers more historical and cultural meanings to people since looking through an existing book, with its typical smell, weight, and colour, we feel like looking at a real person. Besides this, while e- books are harmful to children’s eyesight and also more easily for them to distract, I believe printed books just have much more benefits in these aspects. With printed books, children tend to study effectively. Because of this, many teachers stick to recommending students or parents purchase printed textbooks instead of electronic books. In conclusion, e- books indeed partake of advantages, in particular, in the technology world. However, printed books should not be abandoned as their special value to human society and there still exists a wide range of people in favour of it.