Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have discrepant views about whether a nation should host an international sports event or not. While it is believed to bring the country some drawbacks, I would support those who think it is beneficial. On the one hand, many people do not support the organizing of an international event in their country due to the high cost of organizing. In fact, following these multiple-day events requires a lot of money and human resources. For instance, most of the hosting countries have to build up new billion-dollar stadiums from scratch or renovate the old ones to meet the world-class criteria set by FIFA. However, instead of investing a huge amount of money in these athletic competitions, education, healthcare or facilities in small towns might be benefited. This financial reason leads a lot of residents to refuse to organize an international contest in their country. Nevertheless, I believe that the international sporting tournament obviously is a great opportunity to gain global exposure, which can boost the tourism of the hosting nation. It is because such events attract a large array of athletes, their supporters and especially spectators from all around the world. Take the latest host of the World Cup 2022 as a prime example. The sudden increase in visitors in Qatar will proliferate the sales of hospitality services including hotels and restaurants within the period of the event. Furthermore, broadcasting the matches through multiple communication platforms like television, journal, and social media all over the world also promote their image and culture on a global stage, which potentially their tourism in the long term. In conclusion, meanwhile becoming the host nation of a global sporting tournament has pros and cons, I agree that this hosting activity brings more advantages in terms of tourism.