Globalisation has highlighted the need for international communication.It is iften argued that english should be a compulsory subject for all school children around the world. Other argue that this would do more harm than good.

As globalization develops, differences between countries are decreasing, leading to a new necessity of fast and easy communication accessible to everyone. A reasonable solution could be to make mandatory studying English from an early age,,, however this is not a suitable solution for everyone. I personally believe such measures would be way more beneficial than harmful, despite that I will discuss both points of view in this essay. Some argue that learning English at such early ages will affect how children learn their mother tongue, delaying not only their first words but also the acquisition of a wider vocabulary. Admittedly, those infants who are in contact with more than one language at an early age take 15% longer to say their first words; while regular children speak for the first time around the age of 11 months old, the second ones talk around 1.3 years old. However, even though they start later, at the age of three years old bilingual children are able to dominate their two languages just as good as those who only speak one. Another remarkable reason is that those who speak better English will be more likely to leave the country they were born in to look for fairer job opportunities in English -speaking nations. According to The New York Times, already in,2021 34% of New York City's population were first-generation immigrants and 88% of them spoke an almost native English level. In my opinion, such a situation would not take place if countries would provide their citizens with decent jobs. Some others, myself included, are strong defenders of such measures. Setting up an English training program at such early ages would not only save time and money for students who would have to learn the language afterwards but also make them strongly valuable for a variety of job positions, inside and outside their countries. For instance, tourism-oriented jobs are strongly demanded these days in countries such as Spain, France and Italy,,, however there are not enough people able to speak English at the level required. Moreover, health-related jobs such as medical doctors or nurses are much needed in English -speaking countries, and every year many vacancies open for international workers only. Taking these jobs would not only help people on an individual level but also nations in a wider way, since many shortages would be covered. In conclusion, although some may resist, mandatory English lessons at school would benefit not only human beings but also nations, and it is only a matter of time before we take the next step towards such change.