some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days, some children use their smartphones every day. I believe that this is a negative development, and this essay will give some reasons why this is happening. In my opinion, there are two reasons why children are addicted to their smartphones. The first reason is that they are simple and convenient to use and teenagers tend to constantly check their texts and calls even if there are no notifications or vibrations. Another reason is that they can get instant pleasure from their phone through numerous apps and social media platforms. These can trigger the release of a hormone called ‘dopamine’, which makes them feel happy and entertained. As a result, they frequently check social media posts to check how many likes they received. In spite of the fact that smartphones can bring a lot of benefits like learning new things using a smartphone every day may have a negative impact on children. Firstly, frequent checking and browsing social media apps in bed keeps children awake late. This can interfere with their normal sleep routine. I would argue that sleep deficiency can lead to fatigue. Kids are unlikely to focus on their studies and lessons in class because they are restless. Secondly, they will have less chance to develop their listening and social skills in the long term. This is because being glued to their smartphones means that they will have less chance to play sports and games with their friends and family. According to research by Seoul National University, children who spend over one hour a day on their phone struggle to make new friends. In conclusion, I believe that although using a smartphone can bring benefits such as convenience and a lot of joy for children, this is associated with sleep disruption and poor listening and social skills.