Social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern era, social media like Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram have risen in wide popularity and have revolutionized the way people communicate. While this change has some drawbacks to human interaction, I believe that its advantages outweigh its disadvantages. On the one hand, online networking platforms can have a negative impact on face-to-face communication skills and can even lead to misunderstandings due to the absence of nonverbal cues. Firstly, visual contact weakens the in-person connection. Getting used to online contact networks, people may get risk losing their communication skills as online platforms do not require nonverbal cues such as body language, or handshaking. As a result, the quality of real conversations might be decreased. Furthermore, online interaction sometimes causes some misunderstanding. Instant messaging or email with online texts sometimes does not allow us to show any emotion, which sometimes can lead to conflict. Despite the potential negative impact of social media on interpersonal skills, it offers unique opportunities for individuals to broaden their social circles and maintain long-distance relationships. The first undeniable advantage of social media is that they form a new way of connecting. With the advent of technology, the public nowadays can get to know new ones from various platforms, like Omegle for language learners to exchange languages, and Tinder for dating. Besides opening a circle of friends, social networks also strengthen people's relationships. Facebook residents now can easily stay in touch with their friends and relatives living thousands of miles far from them through instant messaging or video calls. In conclusion, the way that social platform replaces face-to-face interaction have pros and cons, but I believe that its advantage outweighs its disadvantage as social is a supplementary tool to strengthen communication between individuals.