University education should be free to everyone? Regardless of income. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that education plays a vital role in the growth of individuals and the improvement of their career prospects. Recently, some consider that higher education should be available irrespective of income, I believe that the policies of setting free college education, however, it does have its advantages. To begin with, in fact, it is acknowledged that there are several benefits of providing free university education. Firstly, it would have a positive impact on the growth of the country, as everyone could enter higher education leading to an increasingly educated population. As a result, there are more degree holders contributing to the formation of a civilized nation as well as more talented people participating in tackling major issues of the country. Secondly, tuition-free helps individuals to develop themselves. By abolishing the school fees of tertiary education, even people who come from impoverished families would be able to attend college and pursue their interests. Apart from the aforementioned advantages of setting free educational fees, it does also have its adverse influences on the financial planning. Offering tuition-free education for everyone would be utmost expensive, would put a strain on the government budget. For that reason, taxpayers could be at the risk of facing higher taxes and reduced funding for other programs. On top of that, the economy of the country could face an economic crisis. Finally, making tuition free could result in wasted resources and inefficiencies in the system, as students who are not truly interested in academic training may enrol just because it is free. To conclude, despite a couple of benefits of setting free college education, I firmly believe that it does have considerable disadvantages on some crucial fields of the country. From my perspective, providing targeted scholarships or grants for students, that may be more efficient and effective.