In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowlede or experience.

Having a place to live is one of human's basic necessities. Rather than renting it, owning a home is considered more crucial for people's lives in some nations. This is due to people's desire for their children to inherit their home, and it should be seen as a positive situation, considering the increasing land price in the future. The practice of passing down a house as an inheritance happens because family aim to preserve their history and they wish their descendants to take care of it. This is because an owned home can last for generations, therefore making it valuable for the family. For example, most people in Indonesia own their homes rather than rent one, and as a result, these homes may date back a couple of decades ago, so they hold a special recollection for them. The children will be able to reminisce about their family's happy memories, especially after their parents pass away. In my opinion, this culture is actually advantageous for people as the land price is getting higher every day. The rising price of land happens because of the growing number of human populations in the country. Hence, inheriting a home means that younger individuals can allocate their funds towards other useful and important necessities. For instance, they can focus on improving their education rather than searching for a roof to live on. In conclusion, the reason why owning a home is more favourable rather than renting one is due to the fact that it can be passed from one generation to another, and this view is beneficial for their descendants because they can spend money on other essential things.