Ownership of mobile phones has risen dramatically in recent years despite the potentially harmful effects they may have on health and the society. Governments should introduce measures to restrict ownership of mobile phones to those who need them for work. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that the usage of cell phones has been rising nowadays even though it causes damaging troubles to our health and society. Some people believe that the government should take action by restricting users of cell phones to address the problem. I personally agree with this idea and I will outline the reasons in the following essay. There are several main reasons why it would be argued that the government should not interfere in such issues. Firstly, owners of the devices have the right to decide how they are using them and the government has no right to establish related laws. Secondly, it is not scientifically proven that mobile phones do irreversible harm to our health. It is undeniable that radio waves somehow affect our brains and nerves, but devices such as wifi machines, microwaves and hairdryers also produce the high intensity of radio waves that may cause huger damage to our health. However, I would agree with those who believe the government should take steps towards the restriction of mobile phone owners to those who need them for work. Nowadays, company owners often expect employees to reply to messages instantly since the increasing rate of mobile phone ownership has become a common trend. Workers are bombarded with information even after working hours. Furthermore, blue light on digital devices affects people's sleep and contributes to poor eyesight. Recent research has shown that blue light messes with people's body abilities and causes insomnia. Those who expose to excessive blue light generally suffer from sleeping disorders. In conclusion, I believe that both sides of the argument have merits. Nevertheless, I believe various measures can be taken by the government to minor the risk.