Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Today people ’s interest in learning different sciences is widely declining. One issue that constantly causes concern for many nations around the World is illiteracy. There seem to be two causes and several effects, which this essay will discuss. Probably the leading cause of illiteracy is the internet and social media. The internet creates a space where people, instead of studying and reading various books to increase literacy and generate income produce worthless content that earns a lot of money just by being seen; for example, somebody posts some videos or reels on Instagram about her day, and it gets more than one million views and over one thousand dollars in a month. A further well-known cause is that illiterate idiots become an idol for young generations, so they learn what they see and try to behave the same; it seems that they just fall down the wrong road and are far away from the goal of literacy. The effect of this problem on people can be quite serious. Firstly, those people that love studying lose their motivation to keep going and move on because they see some people are twice as famous for success and have more income without even trying half as hard and being literate, which makes them discouraged and disappointed instance you become a doctor. Still, you need to give your advertisement to someone who only has a diploma. In the following another effect that should be mentioned is that the value of people who became proud and contributed to the progress of humanity decreases. If ordinary people are asked to name five Noble laureates, they will be unable to do that. To conclude, in order to show the actual value of literacy, it is better to pay more attention to the people who are looking for knowledge, and there is a significant difference between this groups and the others so that the general public can follow precious humans because of the goals of literacy.