Every generation of people is different in important ways. How is your generation different from your parents’ generation? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

We have been running into some opportunities to come into contact with other generations. Disparities between the young generations and my parent’s generations can be seen the three things - selection of job, marriage and gender roles, regarding values and views as important about life. First of all, there is a difference between young generations and older generations in choosing a vocation. In the past, for example, people in my parent’s generations were advised to learn a profession and find a secure job for life. On the other hand, young adults in today’s world make their own choices to satisfy their job. Furthermore, most young people expect much more variety and diversity from their careers. At the same time, elderly people attach great importance to the ‘rules’ around relationships. These days, people in the modern world make a decision themselves about who and when to marry. Older generations attach great importance to working hard, doing their best, and taking pride in their work, and these behaviours can surely benefit young people as they enter today’s competitive job market. Other characteristics that are perhaps seen as traditional are politeness and good manners. In our globalised world, young adults can expect to come into contact with people from a huge variety of backgrounds, and it is more important than ever to treat others with respect. In conclusion, as mentioned above, in terms of the three things - vocation, marriage and gender roles - that people usually believe in important values about life, there are some disparities between my younger generations and my parent’s old generations.